Tag Archives: YCC Awards 2016

YCC Film Desk to hold citations ceremony Thursday

The Young Critics Circle Film Desk will hand out awards for best achievement in Philippine cinema for 2016 on Thursday, April 27th, 3 pm, at the UP Vargas Museum, Diliman, Quezon City.

The awardees are:

Best Film: Women of the Weeping River, directed by Sheron Dayoc
Best Performance: Laila Ulao, Women of the Weeping River
Best Screenplay: Mrs., Ralston Jover
Best Editing: Women of the Weeping River, Carlo Francisco Manatad
Best Cinematography and Visual Design: Baboy Halas, Raphael Meting and Mark Limbaga (cinematography) and Joel Geolamen (production design)
Best Sound and Aural Orchestration: Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian, Jess Carlos (sound design) and Hiroko Nagai (musical score)
Best First Feature: 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten, directed by Petersen Vargas; and Malinak Ya Labi, directed by Jose Abdel Langit


The ceremony, which is open to the public, is supported by the UP Diliman Office for Initiatives in Culture and the Arts (OICA).

Leave a comment

Posted by on 26 April 2017 in Philippine Film



Young Critics Circle votes ‘Women of the Weeping River’ best film

The Film Desk of the Young Critics Circle cites Sheron Dayoc’s Women of the Weeping River, about a Tausug family caught in a bitter war with a rival clan, as the most distinguished film of 2016.

The film’s lead actor, Laila Putli P. Ulao, bested 14 other nominees to bag the Best Performance award, which the critics group bestows to the year’s most outstanding leading or supporting actor/s regardless of gender. The film also bagged Best Editing for Carlo Francisco Manatad.


Ralston Jover copped his fourth YCC Best Screenplay award for Mrs., directed by Adolfo Alix, Jr. Jover is one win away from the YCC record for most Best Screenplay wins, held by Jose Javier Reyes.

Another film from Mindanao, Baboy Halas, was cited for Best Cinematography and Visual Design, for the work of Raphael Meting and Mark Limbaga (cinematography) and Joel Geolamen (production design).

The sound and musical score of Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian by Hiroko Nagai (original score) and Jess Carlos (sound engineer) was cited for Best Sound and Aural Orchestration.

Two films were cited as Best First Features: Malinak Ya Labi (Jose Abdel Langit) and 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten (Petersen Vargas).

It is worth noting that this year’s winners are products of several local film festivals. Women of the Weeping River and Baboy Halas are from QCinema, Mrs. is from Sinag Maynila, Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian is from CineFilipino, while both Malinak Ya Labi and 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten are products of Cinema One Originals.

The Film Desk considered 128 movies released in Philippine cinemas in 2016 and narrowed the field to a long list of 17 films, and a further shortlist of nine. All nine shortlisted films received nominations.

The awarding ceremony is set on 27 April 2017, 3 pm at the Jorge B. Vargas Museum, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City.

Below is the list of winners and nominees:



Winner: Women of the Weeping River, directed by Sheron Dayoc (Fernando M. Ortigas and E. A. Rocha, executive producers; Vincent Nebrida, Karim Aitouna, Thomas Micoulet, co-producers; Sheron Dayoc, producer)


Baboy Halas, directed by Bagane Fiola (Angely Chi, Aleli S. Billena-Rodriguez, Bebe Go, Beulah Lawanin Fiola-Laranjo, Ching Amor, Debbie Karol Butay, Glorypearl Dy, Kazami Joanne Amano, Lou Raphael Cañedo, Jay Rosas, McRobert Nacario, Ralph Elusfa, Pawlo Pascual, Rhon delos Santos, Rolyn Pregunta, Rudolph Ian Alama, Socorro Fiola, Yam Palma, producers)

Ma’ Rosa, directed by Brillante Ma Mendoza (Brillante Ma Mendoza, executive producer; Larry Castillo, producer)

Malinak Ya Labi, directed by Jose Abdel Langit (Ronald Arguelles, executive producer; Dennis Evangelista and Ferdinand Lapuz, producers)

Mrs., directed by Adolfo Alix, Jr. (Brillante Ma Mendoza and Wilson Tieng, executive producers; Adolfo Alix, Jr. and Ma. Lourdes Gopez, producers)



Winner: Laila Putli P. Ulao, Women of the Weeping River


Nora Aunor, Tuos

Ai-Ai de las Alas, Area

Barbie Forteza, Tuos

Luz Fernandez, Malinak Ya Labi

Jaclyn Jose, Ma’ Rosa

Jaclyn Jose, Patay Na Si Hesus

Elizabeth Oropesa, Mrs.

Daria Ramirez, Mrs.

Duo performance (Nora Aunor and Barbie Forteza), Tuos

Duo performance (Joem Bascon and Sandino Martin), Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian

Ensemble performance (Ai-Ai de las Alas, Allen Dizon, Sue Prado, Sarah Pagcaliwagan, Ireen Cervantes, Tabs Sumulong, Sancho de las Alas, Francisco Guinto, Cecile Yumul, Bambalito Lacap, Eurocina Peña, Rein Gutierrez, Vicky Vega-Cabigting), Area

Ensemble performance (Jaclyn Jose, Julio Diaz, Baron Geisler, Jomari Angeles, Neil Ryan Sese, Mercedes Cabral, Andi Eigenmann, Mark Anthony Fernandez, Felix Roco, Mon Confiado, Maria Isabel Lopez, Rubi Ruiz, John Paul Duray), Ma’ Rosa

Ensemble performance (Allen Dizon, Angeline Quinto, Luz Fernandez, Richard Quan, Dexter Doria, Menggie Cobarrubias, Marcus Madrigal, Althea Vega, Timothy Castillo, Dante Balois, Tabs Sumulong, Raul Tamayo, Shiela Paragas, Karla Zabala, Angela Alfero), Malinak Ya Labi

Ensemble performance (Jaclyn Jose, Chai Fonacier, Melde Montañez, Vincent Viado, Mailes Kanapi, Olive Nieto, Sheen Gener, Albert Chan Paran), Patay Na Si Hesus



Winner: Mrs. (Ralston Jover)


Area (Robby Tantingco and Ferdinand Dizon Lapuz)

Ma’ Rosa (Troy Espiritu)

Malinak Ya Labi (Jose Abdel Langit)

Patay Na Si Hesus (Fatrick Tabada and Moira Lang)

Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian (Alvin Yapan)

Women of the Weeping River (Sheron Dayoc)



Winner: Baboy Halas, Raphael Meting and Mark Limbaga (cinematography), Joel Geolamen (production design)


Ma’ Rosa, Odyssey Flores (cinematography), Brillante Mendoza (production design)

Mrs., Albert Banzon (cinematography), Arthur Maningas (production design)

Tuos, Mycko David (cinematography), Steff Dereja (production design)

Women of the Weeping River, Rommel Sales (cinematography), Harley Alcasid (production design)



Winner: Women of the Weeping River (Carlo Francisco Manatad)


Ma’ Rosa (Diego Marx Dobles)

Malinak Ya Labi (Gilbert Obispo)



Winner: Ang Tulay ng San Sebastian, Jess Carlos (sound), Hiroko Nagai (music)


Ma’ Rosa, Albert Michael Idioma (sound), Teresa Barrozo (music)

Malinak Ya Labi, Gilbert Obispo (sound), Emerzon Texon (music)

Patay Na Si Hesus, Mark Laccay and Nicholas Varela (sound), Francis de Veyra (music)

Women of the Weeping River, Albert Michael Idioma and Immanuel Verona (sound), Kit Mendoza (music)




2 Cool 2 Be4gotten (Petersen Vargas)

Malinak Ya Labi (Jose Abdel Langit)


The YCC members who took part in the deliberations this year were Jema Pamintuan (Chair), Aristotle Atienza, Emerald Flaviano, J. Pilapil Jacobo, Skilty Labastilla, Noy Lauzon, and Jaime Oscar Salazar.



Leave a comment

Posted by on 12 February 2017 in Philippine Film