The 29th Annual Circle Citations for Distinguished Achievement in Film for 2018

17 Aug


The Young Critics Circle Film Desk held its 29th Annual Circle Citations for Distinguished Achievement in Film for 2018 on 16 August 2019 (Friday), 3:00 PM at the Jorge B. Vargas Museum, University of the Philippines-Diliman.

Dr. Joseph Pális, assistant professor at the Department of Geography of the University of the Philippines Diliman, is the keynote speaker. Dr. Pális is also an affiliate faculty in the Center for International Studies in the same university.

The 29th Annual Circle Citations catalog is available for download here.

The event was supported by the University of the Philippines-Diliman Office for Initiatives in Culture and the Arts.


The trophies


View of the audience before the ceremony


YCC member Christian Jil Benitez opens the 2018 Citations and introduces the keynote speaker, Dr. Joseph Pális of the U.P. Department of Geography and Center for International Studies.


Dr. Joseph Pális delivers his keynote speech.


(L-R) YCC Chairperson Emerald Flaviano, Dr. Joseph Pális, and YCC member Christian Jil Benitez.


YCC member Lisa Ito-Tapang reads the citations for Best Cinematography and Visual Design.


Jewel Maranan delivers her acceptance speech for Best Cinematography and Visual Design.


Mrs. Fatima Calvo, mother of Len Calvo, reads out Len Calvo’s speech (awardee for music, Best Sound and Aura Orchestration for Never Not Love You).


Kat Salinas delivering a few words of appreciation for their work on sound design of Never Not Love You.


               YCC member Aristotle Atienza reads the citation for Best Editing.          


Ms. Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala receives the award for Victoria Chalk, editor, Call Her Ganda.


YCC Chairperson Emerald Flaviano presenting the President’s Report for 2018.


YCC member John Bengan reads the citation for Best Screenplay.


Sherad Sanchez, creative consultant of Masla A Papanok, accepts the award in behalf of Gutierrez Mangansakan II


YCC member Christian Tablazon delivers the citation for Best Performance.             


Awardee for Best Performance, Nadine Lustre for Never Not Love You.


The crowd listens to Nadine Lustre’s speech.


YCC members pose with the awardees.


YCC member Jaime Oscar Salazar reads the citations for Best First Features.


The recipients for the Best First Features awards include Denise O’Hara (Mamang), Marius Talampas (Ang Pangarap Kong Holdap) and Rod Singh (Mamu; And a Mother Too); Singh (above) delivering a words of gratitude.


The recipient of the Best Film of 2018 award, Jewel Maranan for Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang, with YCC Chairperson Emerald Flaviano.


Jewel Maranan expresses her appreciation and insights.


Incoming YCC Chairperson Christian Jil Benitez introduces the current membership of YCC and welcomes new YCC members, Andrea Anne Trinidad, John Bengan, and Christian Tablazon.


The 2018 awardees, keynote speaker, and current YCC members.

All photos courtesy of Kara De Guzman and Gian Delgado of the U.P. Vargas Museum.

Leave a comment

Posted by on 17 August 2019 in 2018 Citations


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: