YCC names ‘Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang’ best film, Nadine Lustre best performer

17 Mar

The Film Desk of the Young Critics Circle voted the documentary Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang as the best film of 2018. This marks the first time in the Circle’s 29-year history that the top award has been given to a documentary. Jewel Maranan’s film asserts a certain slowness in the urban Manila as to critique its violent accelerations. The film also bagged the Best Achievement in Cinematography and Visual Design award for Maranan.

Sa Palad5

The award for Best Performance is given to Nadine Lustre, who plays an aspiring career woman in Never Not Love You, which also bagged Best Sound and Aural Orchestration for Jason Conanan, Kat Salinas and Mikko Quizon (sound design) and Len Calvo (original score).

Best Screenplay is awarded to Masla A Papanok, written by Gutierrez Mangansakan II.

Another documentary, Call Her Ganda, was named Best Achievement in Editing, for Victoria Chalk.

The award for Best First Feature is shared by three films: Mamang by Denise O’Hara, Mamu: And a Mother Too by Rod Singh, and Ang Pangarap Kong Holdap by Marius Talampas.

The critics group narrowed down the 132 films that were released in cinemas last year to 18 films and, after thorough deliberations, to a further shortlist of 10. Except for the Best First Feature category, nominations for the 6 major categories can only come from the shortlist.

The Young Critics Circle is composed of film critics and academics from the University of the Philippines Diliman, Ateneo de Manila University, University of Santo Tomas, University of the Philippines Mindanao, and Philippine High School for the Arts. Members who voted for the 2018 citations include Emerald Flaviano (chair), Aristotle Atienza, John Bengan, Christian Jil Benitez, Lisa Ito-Tapang, Skilty Labastilla, Tito Quiling Jr., and Christian Tablazon.

The awarding ceremony will be held in August 2019 at the UP Diliman Vargas Museum.

Below is the list of winners and nominees:



Winner: Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang, directed and produced by Jewel Maranan


Call Her Ganda, directed by PJ Raval (Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala, Marty Syjuco, Lisa Valencia-Svensson, and PJ Raval, producers)

Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon, directed by Carlo Enciso Catu (Roderick Cabrido and Omar Sortijas, producers)

Masla A Papanok, directed by Gutierrez Mangansakan II (Manet A. Dayrit and Ed Lejano, producers)

Oda sa Wala, directed by Dwein Baltazar (Bianca Balbuena, Iana Bernardez, and Kriz Gazmen, producers)



Winner: Nadine Lustre, Never Not Love You


Perla Bautista, Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon

Trio performance (Perla Bautista, Menggie Cobarrubias, Dante Rivero), Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon

Celeste Legaspi, Mamang

Ina Raymundo, Kuya Wes

Marietta Subong, Oda sa Wala



Winner: Masla A Papanok (Gutierrez Mangansakan II)


Call Her Ganda (Victoria Chalk and PJ Raval)

Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon (John Carlo Pacala)

Kuya Wes (Denise O’Hara and Heber O’Hara)

Oda sa Wala (Dwein Baltazar)



Winner: Call Her Ganda (Victoria Chalk)


A Short History of a Few Bad Things (Maria Estela Paiso and Keith Deligero)

Kung Paano Siya Nawala (Lawrence Ang)

Never Not Love You (Benjamin Tolentino)

Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang (Lawrence Ang and Jewel Maranan)



Winner: Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang (cinematography: Jewel Maranan)


Kung Paano Hinihintay ang Dapithapon (cinematography: Neil Daza; production design: Marielle Hizon)

Kung Paano Siya Nawala (cinematography: Ike Avellana; production design: Christina Dy)

Kuya Wes (cinematography: Theo Lozada; production design: Ericson Navarro)

Masla A Papanok (cinematography: Willie Apa Jr., Arnel Barbarona, Bagane Fiola; production design: Paramata Endawan)

Never Not Love You (cinematography: Mycko David and Carlo Mauricio; production design: Ana Lou Sanchez)

Oda sa Wala (cinematography: Neil Daza; production design: Maolen Fadul)



Winner: Never Not Love You (music: Len Calvo; sound design: Jason Conanan, Kat Salinas and Mikko Quizon)


A Short History of a Few Bad Things (music: Lav Diaz, Duke Caing, Young Kael, Maricel Sombrio, John Caing, Bombo Pluto Ova, Stevan Marvin Jamaar, Silhouette; sound design: Rico Mambo)

Masla A Papanok (music: Jem Talaroc; sound design: Willie Apa Jr.)

Oda sa Wala (music: Richard Gonzales; sound design: Immanuel Verona)




Mamang (Denise O’Hara)

Mamu; And a Mother Too (Rod Singh)

Ang Pangarap Kong Holdap (Marius Talampas)

1 Comment

Posted by on 17 March 2019 in 2018 Citations, Philippine Film



One response to “YCC names ‘Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang’ best film, Nadine Lustre best performer

  1. Joy Cortez

    18 March 2019 at 5:31 AM

    Thank you, ycc for recognizing the very best in Philippine cinema not based on ticket sales or popularity but on solid story, acting and overall exectuion/impact. Congrats to all the winners!


Leave a Reply to Joy Cortez Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: