YCC picks Baconaua best film of 2017

16 Jun

The Film Desk of the Young Critics Circle voted Baconaua as the best film of 2017. Joseph Israel Laban’s film interweaves the mythic with the contemporary exploration of violence and loss in a coastal community of Marinduque. The film also bagged the Best Achievement in Cinematography and Visual Design award, for TM Malones and Marielle Hizon.


The award for Best Performance is given to Anthony Falcon, who plays a transwoman revisiting her past in Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko.

Best Screenplay is The Chanters, written by John Paul Bedia and Andrian Legaspi from a story by Ana Puod and James Robin Mayo.

Nervous Translation claimed two awards: Best Achievement in Editing, for Shireen Seño and John Torres; and Best Achievement in Sound and Aural Orchestration, for the original score of Itos Ledesma and the sound design of Mikko Quizon.

The award for Best First Feature is shared by three films: Kiko Boksingero by Thop Nazareno, Si Chedeng at si Apple by Rae Red and Fatrick Tabada, and The Chanters by James Robin Mayo.

The critics group narrowed down the around 150 films that were released in cinemas last year to 20 films and, after thorough deliberations, to a further shortlist of 7. Except for the Best First Feature category, nominations for the 6 major categories can only come from the shortlist.

The Young Critics Circle is composed of film critics and academics from the University of the Philippines Diliman and Ateneo de Manila University. Members who voted for the 2017 citations include Lisa Ito-Tapang (chair), Aristotle Atienza, Christian Benitez, Emerald Flaviano, J. Pilapil Jacobo, Skilty Labastilla, Noy Lauzon, and Jaime Oscar Salazar.

The awarding ceremony is tentatively scheduled on August 30, 2018 at the UP Diliman Vargas Museum.

Below is the list of winners and nominees:



Winner: Baconaua, directed by Joseph Israel Laban (Nicole Runi, Sara Santiago, Ferdinand Lapuz, Derick Cabrido, producers)


Kiko Boksingero, directed by Thop Nazareno (Ferdinand Lapuz and James Robin Mayo, producers)

Medusae, directed by Pamela Miras (Tonee Acejo, Lawrence S. Ang, Heintje Fernandez, Jenny Fernandez-Ang, Jason Tan, producers)

Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko, directed by Gerardo Calagui (Manuel Marinay, Mabel P. Villarica-Madamba, Joy Mendoza Rojas, Bianca Balbuena, Bradley Liew, Neil Maristela, Jose Ferdinand Roxas II, producers)

The Chanters, directed by James Robin Mayo (Cai Cena, Thop Nazareno, Ferdinand Lapuz, producers)


Anthony Falcon as Amanda in Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko


Winner: Anthony Falcon, Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko


Jana Agoncillo, Nervous Translation

Noel Comia, Jr., Kiko Boksingero

Mon Confiado, Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko

Desiree del Valle, Medusae

Duo performance (Noel Comia, Jr. and Yayo Aguila), Kiko Boksingero

Elora Españo, Baconaua

Jally Nae Gilbaliga, The Chanters

Lead cast ensemble (Matt Daclan, Anthony Falcon, Rocky Salumbides), Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko

Carl Palaganas, Medusae



Winner: The Chanters (screenplay: John Paul Bedia and Andrian Legaspi)


Baconaua (Joseph Israel Laban and Denise O’Hara)

Kiko Boksingero (Emmanuel Espejo Jr., Ash Malanum, Denise O’Hara, Heber O’Hara, and Thop Nazareno)

Medusae (Pam Miras)

Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko (Mark Duane Angos)



Winner: Nervous Translation (Shireen Seno and John Torres)


God BLISS Our Home (Lawrence Ang)

Medusae (Lawrence Ang)

Mga Gabing Kasinghaba ng Hair Ko (Bradley Liew)



Winner: Baconaua (cinematography: TM Malones; production design: Marielle Hizon)


Kiko Boksingero (cinematography: Marvin Reyes; production design: Ericson Navarro)

Medusae (cinematography: Albert Banzon; production design: Aped Santos; visual effects: Vladimer Castañeto)

Nervous Translation (cinematography: Albert Banzon, Jippy Pascua, Dennise Victoria; production design: Leeroy New)

The Chanters (cinematography: Jav Velasco; production design: Carmela Danao)



Winner: Nervous Translation (music: Itos Ledesma; sound design: Mikko Quizon)


Baconaua (music: Jema Pamintuan; sound: Monoxide Works, Bryan Dumaguina, JR Miano)

The Chanters (music: Erwin Fajardo; sound design: Immanuel Verona)




Kiko Boksingero (Thop Nazareno)

Si Chedeng at si Apple (Rae Red and Fatrick Tabada)

The Chanters (James Robin Mayo)


1 Comment

Posted by on 16 June 2018 in Philippine Film



One response to “YCC picks Baconaua best film of 2017

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: