Eula Valdes, Nonie Buencamino bag YCC Best Performance prize

11 Apr

The Young Critics Circle Film Desk picks the duo performance of Eula Valdes and Nonie Buencamino in Giancarlo Abrahan V’s Dagitab as Best Performance for its 25th Annual Citations. Valdes and Buencamino play university professors striving to revive their marriage on the verge of collapse. Dagitab is also named Best Cinematography and Visual Design.


Milo Sogueco’s Mariquina is named Best Editing, while Bagane Fiola’s Sonata Maria is picked as Best Sound and Aural Orchestration.

For the first time in YCC’s history, no winner or nominee was named for both the Best Film and Best Screenplay categories.

Three films share the award for Best First Feature: Dagitab, Sonata Maria, and Nick and Chai.

YCC considered 123 films released in 2014. The critics group narrowed the films down to a long list of seven films, and, after a thorough discussion of the long list, reduced it further to a shortlist of five films. The group does not confer any nomination to a film that does not qualify for the shortlist.

Aside from Dagitab, Mariquina, Sonata Maria, and Nick and Chai, Sundalong Kanin was also shortlisted. Mana and Magkakabaung were the two additional films that formed the long list.

The awarding ceremony for the 2013 and 2014 winners will be held on April 23rd, 4pm, at the West Wing of Vargas Museum, University of the Philippines, Diliman, Quezon City.

Below is the full list of winners and nominees for all categories:


No winner and nominees


No winner and nominees


Winner: Eula Valdes and Nonie Buencamino, Dagitab (duo performance)


Nonie Buencamino, Dagitab

Krigi Hager, Sonata Maria

Bing Pimentel, Mariquina

Eula Valdes, Dagitab

Ensemble lead cast of Sundalong Kanin (Isaac Cain Aguirre, Nathaniel Britt, Elijah Canlas, and Akira Morishita)


Winner: Mariquina (Benjamin Tolentino)


Dagitab (Benjamin Tolentino)

Nick and Chai (Cha Escala and Bam Luneta)

Sonata Maria (Bagane Fiola)


Winner: Dagitab, Rommel Sales (cinematography) and Whammy Alcazaren and Tessa Tang (production design)


Mariquina, Sasha Palomares (cinematography) and Aped Santos (production design)

Sonata Maria, Wrap Meting and Mark Limbaga (cinematography) and Bagane Fiola, Orvil Bantayan, Mandy Velasco, Lulu Amorado, and Louie Daniel (production design)


Winner: Sonata Maria, Maki Serapio (sound design), Wrap Meting and Mark Limbaga (production sound) and Jad Montenegro (music)


Dagitab, Adam Newns and Mikko Quizon (sound design) and Mon Espia (music)


Winners: Dagitab (Giancarlo Abrahan V), Nick and Chai (Cha Escala and Wena Sanchez), and Sonata Maria (Bagane Fiola)

The YCC members who took part in the selection process and in the deliberations are Jaime Oscar Salazar (Chair), Aristotle Atienza, Patrick Flores, Tessa Maria Guazon, J. Pilapil Jacobo, Skilty Labastilla, Nonoy Lauzon, and JPaul Manzanilla.

1 Comment

Posted by on 11 April 2015 in Philippine Film



One response to “Eula Valdes, Nonie Buencamino bag YCC Best Performance prize

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: