YCC names Qiyamah best film of 2012; Nora Aunor bags fifth performance award

01 Jun

The Young Critics Circle chose Qiyamah, Gutierrez Mangansakan II’s poetic Qiyamahdepiction of a rural village haunted by the specter of the apocalypse (Qiyamah in Islam) as best film of 2012, while veteran actress Nora Aunor was chosen best performer for her role as Shaleha, a Bajau midwife, in Thy Womb. Aunor previously won the Circle’s sole acting award in 1990, 1991, 1993, and 1995.

Qiyamah premiered in Davao City on June 2012 as one of the entries to the first Sineng Pambansa Film Festival sponsored by the Film Development Council of the Philippines. Qiyamah bested two other films, Arnel Mardoquio’s Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim and Adolfo Alix Jr.’s Kalayaan.

Qiyamah was also cited in two other categories: editing and sound and aural orchestration.

Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim was chosen for best screenplay (for writer/director Mardoquio), while Kalayaan garnered two awards: best cinematography and visual design, and best sound and aural orchestration.

The Circle chose its nominees from a shortlist of 9 films culled from a long list of 32 films. Each of the shortlisted films received at least one nomination.

Below is the list of nominees for all categories:



Winner:  Qiyamah, directed by Gutierrez Mangansakan II (Film Development Council of the Philippines; Gutierrez Mangansakan II, producer)


Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim, directed by Arnel Mardoquio (Cinema One Originals, Skyweaver Productions, Red Motion Media, Hyde Out Entertainment, Alchemy of Vision and Light; Conrad Cejoco, producer; Fe Virtudazo-Hyde, co-producer; Ronald Arguelles, executive producer)

Kalayaan, directed by Adolfo Alix Jr. (Cinemalaya Foundation, Hubert Bals Fund, CineMart, Global Film Initiative, Phoenix Features, Wa Entertainment; Arleen Cuevas, producer; Kousuke Ono, Kiki Sugino, co-producers)



Winner: Nora Aunor, Thy Womb


Kristoffer King, Oros

Ama Quiambao, Diablo

Fides Cuyugan-Asensio, Aparisyon

Kristofer Martin, Oros



Winner: Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing MadilimArnel Mardoquio


Aparisyon, Vincent Sandoval and Jerry Gracio

Kalayaan, Adolfo Alix Jr.

Oros, Paul Sta. Ana and Obet Villela

Qiyamah, Gutierrez Mangansakan II

Thy Womb, Henry Burgos



Winner: QiyamahArnel Barbarona and Gutierrez Mangansakan II


Aparisyon, Jerrold Tarog and Vincent Sandoval

Jingle Lang ang Pahina, Aimee Apostol-Escasa

Kalayaan, Aleks Castañeda

Thy Womb, Kats Serraon



Winner: Kalayaan, Albert Banzon (cinematography) and Adolfo Alix Jr. (production design)


Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim, Arnel Barbarona and McRobert Nacario (cinematography) and Bagwani Ampalayo (production design)

Diablo, Tristan Salas (cinematography) and Cesar Hernando (production design)

Kamera Obskura, Raymond Red (cinematography), Mikey Red (art direction), Daniel Red and Cesar Hernando (production design), Edrie Ocampo and Pablo Biglang-Awa (visual effects)

Qiyamah, McRobert Nacario (cinematography) and Perry Dizon (production design)

Thy Womb, Odyssey Flores (cinematography) and Brillante Mendoza (production design)



Winners:  Kalayaan, Teresa Barrozo (music) and Ditoy Aguila (sound design), and

Qiyamah, Raphael Pulgar (music) and Arnel Barbarona (sound design)


Ang Paglalakbay ng mga Bituin sa Gabing Madilim, Arbi Barbarona (sound design)


The awarding ceremony will be held last week of July 2013 at the University of the Philippines Diliman.


Posted by on 01 June 2013 in Philippine Film


Tags: ,

9 responses to “YCC names Qiyamah best film of 2012; Nora Aunor bags fifth performance award

  1. Tessa Maria Guazon

    01 June 2013 at 6:12 AM

    Reblogged this on Tessa Maria Guazon and commented:
    2012 Young Critics Circle Film Desk Awardees

  2. donzandro

    01 June 2013 at 10:20 AM

    CONGRATULATIONS Ms. Nora Aunor and team Thy Womb! Unanimously hailed by international and local critics! BRAVO!

  3. Portia Placino

    01 June 2013 at 11:20 AM

    Reblogged this on Portia Placino.

  4. nora rodvold

    02 June 2013 at 2:39 PM

    Nora Aunor is the best actress ever!

  5. anselmo

    02 June 2013 at 7:49 PM

    npkhusay ni guy tlg

  6. Oghie L. Ignacio

    03 June 2013 at 11:54 AM

    Sana bigyan n’yo na ng Hall Of Fame Award si Nora Aunor para mapagbigyan ang new breed of movie performers. At sa ika-25th ng YCC, ay gawaran n’yo ng Film Achiever Of The Decade si Nora at iba pang may panalo sa inyo ng higit sa dalawa. Suggestion lang po.Thanks.


    04 June 2013 at 10:01 AM

    congrats to the one and only superstar MISS NORA AUNOR .

  8. sally

    12 July 2013 at 12:26 AM

    Congratulations to Raphael Pulgar.. It’s an achievement for a first timer and may you be showered with more blessings..


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: